Dam Safety Checks to Restrict Access to Some Raccoon Mountain Areas

September 12, 2016

CHATTANOOGA — The Tennessee Valley Authority will be conducting routine dam safety checks at the Raccoon Mountain reservoir beginning Monday, September 19, that will require the weekday closure of a section of Laurel Point Road to ensure the safety of the public.

Beginning at approx. 7 a.m. EDT (6 a.m. CDT) on September 19, Laurel Point Road will be closed to all traffic — vehicles, bikes and pedestrians — from the Raccoon Mountain Visitor Center to the upper rim of the reservoir. The closure will also restrict access to the Laurel Point parking area, but the main visitor center will remain open during its normal business hours.

The road will open for traffic each Friday at approx. 6 p.m. EDT (5 p.m. CDT) and will close again each Monday at approx. 7 a.m. EDT (6 a.m. CDT) until the project is complete on Friday, October 7.

Dam safety checks are part of TVA’s commitment to ensure all of its dams and earthen embankments continue to perform safely and reliably. Those visiting the Raccoon Mountain reservoir area each weekend during the project may see ongoing work, including core drilling operations. Visitors should remain a safe distance from any work area or equipment, and obey all posted signs and safety barriers.

Contact

TVA Public Relations

tvainfo@tva.gov
(865) 632-6000
Knoxville, TN