tva logoTennessee Valley Authority

Board of Directors

TVA Board sealThe Board of Directors guides TVA in achieving the objectives and missions established by the TVA Act for the benefit of the people of the Valley.

As provided by the TVA Act and the TVA Bylaws, the principal responsibilities of the Board are to establish the broad strategies, goals, and objectives, long-range plans, and policies of TVA and to ensure that those are achieved by the TVA staff led by the Chief Executive Officer. Each Director takes an oath to faithfully and impartially perform the duties of office. Directors serve part-time.


August 21, 2015
Knoxville, Tennessee



Presentation slides


May 7, 2015
Huntsville, Alabama



Presentation Slides



See the full Board Meeting archive.

Board Members

When their terms expire, directors may remain on the board until the end of the current congressional session (typically in December) or until their successors take office, whichever comes first.

Chair Joe Ritch is an attorney at the Sirote & Permutt law firm in Huntsville, Ala., where he has worked since 1982. Ritch also serves as chairman of the Tennessee Valley Base Realignment and Closures Committee, and is a board member for Axiometrics, Inc. and the Von Braun Center for Science and Innovation. He is formerly a trustee with the University of Alabama System and is now a trustee emeritus. He also serves as a member of the Ohio State University School of Engineering External Advisory Committee. His term as Chair expires when his term as director expires May 18, 2016. image of board member
Marilyn A. Brown of Atlanta, Ga., is an endowed professor of energy policy in the Georgia Institute of Technology's School of Public Policy and a distinguished visiting scientist at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. The author of two books and more than 250 publications, she was recognized by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change for her contributions that led to the IPCC's receipt of the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize. Her term expires May 18, 2017. image of board member
Lynn Evans of Memphis, Tenn., is the owner of V. Lynn Evans, CPA, a certified public accounting and consulting firm established in 1983. Evans also serves on the board of directors of First Alliance Bank in Memphis, Tenn. She resigned from the board of commissioners of Memphis Light, Gas and Water Division in January 2013. Her term expires May 18, 2017. image of board member
Richard Howorth of Oxford, Miss., served two terms as mayor of Oxford and is founder and owner of Square Books, a leading independent bookstore in Oxford. As mayor, he was chairman of the authority overseeing the Oxford Electric Department. He served eight years as a director and officer of the North Mississippi Industrial Development Association and is former president of the American Booksellers Association. His term expires May 18, 2015. image of board member
Virginia Lodge of Nashville, Tenn. is currently CEO of FSI Inc., a position she has held since 2012. Prior to this, she served as Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Human Services from 2003 to 2011. She was the Executive Director for Kids Voting of Middle Tennessee from 1994 to 1999. During her entire career, Ms. Lodge worked on a number of political campaigns. Her term expires May 18, 2019. image of board member
Peter Mahurin of Bowling Green, Ky., is chairman of Hilliard Lyons Financial Services, a position he has held since 2008. Mahurin also serves as a board member for Houchens Industries, Albany Bancorp, Cecilian Bancorp, Gray Construction, Jackson Financial and the Governors Scholars of Kentucky. Prior to joining Hilliard Lyons in 1968, Mahurin was a high school math and science teacher. His term expires May 18, 2016. image of board member
Michael McWherter of Jackson, Tenn., is owner and president of Central Distributors Co. and Volunteer Distributing Co., Tennessee-based beverage distribution companies. McWherter previously practiced law in Nashville, Tenn., and clerked for the Tennessee Supreme Court. He also serves on the board of directors of First State Bank of Union City, Tenn. McWherter resigned from the board of the Jackson Energy Authority in Jackson, Tenn., in January 2013. His term expires May 18, 2016. image of board member
Eric Satz of Nashville, Tenn., serves as a Managing Member of the Tennessee Community Ventures Fund, LLC (TNCV), a company he co-founded in 2009, and is Executive Chairman to three TNCV portfolio companies. From 2010 to 2014, he served as Investor, Advisor, and Vice President of Business Development for Panopto, Inc. He co-founded and was Chief Executive Officer of Plumgood Food, LLC from 2004 to 2008. His term expires May 18, 2018. board member photo
Ronald Walter of Memphis, Tenn. is currently the President and General Manager of WREG-TV, a position he has held since 2004. Mr. Walter has served in a variety of positions at WREG-TV since 1987. Prior to WREG-TV, Mr. Walter was employed by Memphis Light, Gas and Water and was Vice President of Customer Relations from 1982 to 1987, and served as Assistant to the President from 1980 to 1982. His term expires May 18, 2019. image of board member


Contact Information

TVA Board of Directors
Board Services
400 West Summit Hill Drive WT 6
Knoxville, TN 37914

(865) 632-4000



Content for id "future1" Goes Here
Content for id "future2" Goes Here
Content for id "future3" Goes Here